Saturday, 15 June 2013

Mohun Bagan 2-1 East Bengal : Calcutta Football League 1st Leg 2008-09

5.8.2008, Calcutta: A day when seasoned Jose Ramirez Barreto was reined in by East Bengal defenders, an opportunist P.C. Lalawmpuiya made the difference. First, he scored the equaliser for Mohun Bagan and then helped them earn a 2-1 victory over archrivals East Bengal in the Sahara CFL Premier Division match at the Salt Lake Stadium on Tuesday.
Undoubtedly the hero of the match, Lalawmpuiya scored off a header in the 72nd minute to restore parity and fooled East Bengal custodian Arnab Das Sharma ten minutes later for the winner.
Mohun Bagan, thus, continued their unbeaten run against East Bengal at the Salt Lake Stadium for six matches on the trot.
The red and golds, who started brilliantly to push Mohun Bagan to the wall, went into the lead — thanks to Alvito D’ Cunha’s excellent volley in the 19th minute.
With a not-fully-fit Alvito operating as a withdrawn-striker and Edmilson Marques along with Ashim Biswas making forays, East Bengal looked a promising side with lot of support from the midfield.
Mohun Bagan, too, with some well-structured moves gave East Bengal some anxious moments. While a Barreto header went over the bar, a Rakesh Masih header went straight to Arnab. In the meantime, Edmilson’s long-ranger was brilliantly thwarted by Bagan custodian Sangram Mukherjee in the ninth minute. A Nirmal Chhetri cross from the right in the 19th minute saw an unmarked Alvito (on the left edge of the top box) make a brilliant side volley to put it into the far corner.
Down but desperate for a comeback, Bagan coach Karim Bencharifa switched from 4-4-2 formation to 4-3-3 after the lemon break. Sensing the opportunity, as soon as Alvito was taken off, the Moroccon coach induced a fresh Lalkamal Bhowmick (for L. James Singh), whose exact crosses orchestrated some quality moves.
Lalkamal took only 10 minutes after coming on to make the difference. His corner-kick found the opportunistic Lalawmpuiya, who headed in to equalise at the expense of an inexperienced Arnab, who tried to fist the ball out.
The second goal was a replay of the earlier. Lalkamal took the corner and Lalawmpuiya headed in brilliantly to score the winner. Mohun Bagan, after Tuesday’s win, have 16 points from seven outings and opened a lead of five points over East Bengal.
East Bengal: Arnab Das Sharma, Nirmal Chhetri, Suley Musah, Anupam Sarkar, Saumik Dey, Jayanta Sen, Mehtab Hossain, Chhangte Malsawmkima, Alvito D’ Cunha (Khanjebam Jibon Singh 59), Edmilson Marques (Parveen Kumar 74), Ashim Biswas
Mohun Bagan: Sangram Mukherjee, Habibur Rehman Mondal, N. Mohan Raj, Peter Odafe, J. Anand Vesan, Rakesh Masih, L. James Singh (Lalkamal Bhowmick 61), S. Malsawmtulunga, Lalramluaha, Jose Ramirez Barreto, P.C. Lalawmpuiya (Tapan Maity 90)
Referee: Minansu Bhattacharjee
Man of the Match: P.C. Lalawmpuiya

 Here are the match videos :

Source :

No comments:

Post a Comment