Sunday, 16 June 2013

Mohun Bagan 2-1 East Bengal : National Football League 2nd Leg 2006-07

15.4.2007, Calcutta: Douglas da Silva converted a corner from Lalkamal Bhowmick nine minutes from time to help Mohun Bagan rally to beat East Bengal 2-1 in the ONGC National Football League derby on Sunday.
With both the city giants locked 1-1 at the lemon break, Douglas gave the perfect finish when his header from the right was clean enough to clear Abhra Mondal and found the net.
However it was Mohun Bagan Man-of-the-Match Jose Ramirez Barreto who stole the limelight at the Salt Lake Stadium booming with a 70,000-plus crowd.
Watched by Fifa president Joseph Sepp Blatter, the match had the all the ingredients of a thriller. Midway into the first session there was an aerial clash between Edmilson Marques and Douglas which saw the former sustain a head injury in the 18th minute and played till the end of the first session. But had to be ultimately substituted by Snehashis Chakraborty.
He was later admitted in a hospital and CT scan was done. “However there’s nothing to worry about. The report has come normal. There’s just injury to soft tissues over the scalp,” said team doctor Shanti Ranjan Dasgupta.
It was Edmilson (took his individual tally to 11) who gave East Bengal the early lead having converted the spot-kick after Mohun Bagan goalkeeper Shilton Paul brought down a rampaging Shylo Malsawmtlunga.
East Bengal were taken aback just before the break as Barreto’s clinical header beat Mondal to make the scoreline 1-1. It was Mehtab Hossain from the right who set it up for Barreto.
Just when it all seemed that both the teams will take home one each, Douglas’ header helped Mohun Bagan snatch three points to take the tally to 16 points from 13 matches.
The revenge — to the 0-1 loss earlier — was taken.
Maybe, the Fifa boss knew the match was as good as over with Mohun Bagan edging past East Bengal as minutes later he opted to leave the stadium.
East Bengal remained on 23 points in as many matches.
Mohun Bagan: Shilotn Paul, Dulal Biswas, Sanjeev Maria, Deepak Mondal, D. Ravanan, Douglas Silva, Meherajuddin Wadao, Mehtab Hossain, Lalkamal Bhowmick (Suman Dutta 88), Jose Ramirez Barreto, Bhaichung Bhutia (PC Lalawmpuia 85).
East Bengal: Abhra Mondal, Surya Bikash Chakraborty, Cristiano Oliveira, M. Suresh, Saumik Dey, Shylo Malsawmtluanga, Chandan Das (Sovan Chakraborty 69), Jayanta Sen, Alvito D’Cunha, Bonface Ambani, Edmilson Marques (Snehasish Chakraborty 46’).
Referee: Rizwan-ul Haq (Delhi).
Man-of-the-Match: Jose Ramirez Barreto.

Here are the match videos :

Source :

No comments:

Post a Comment